Our Prime Minister Modi wins ‘Seoul Peace Prize 2018’

Our beloved Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi Ji received the prestigious Seoul Peace Prize for 2018 in recognition of his efforts in promoting global peace and harmony through inclusive economic growth and improving quality of life. The award was presented to PM Modi by the Seoul Peace Prize Foundation at a grand ceremony. A short film on the life and achievements of Modi Ji was also screened at the event. “The Seoul Peace Prize is dedicated to the people of India & our country’s culture of peace and harmony,” PM Modi said after taking the award.

The Seoul Peace Prize was established in 1990 to commemorate the success of the 24th Olympic Games held in Seoul, Korea, an event in which 160 nations from across the world took part, creating harmony and friendship. The significance of the Seoul Olympic Games rests in the fact that the games heralded the termination of age-old political and ideological conflict between the East and the West, fostering a worldwide atmosphere of peace and reconciliation. It also served as an occasion to confirm the possibility of achieving world peace through mutual understanding and cooperation.

The internal committee that decide the winner includes over 1,300 nominators, including internationally renowned Korean and foreign figures in political, economic, social, cultural, athletic, academic and other fields. The nominators should send back the forms after filling in the name of their candidates and their achievements three months before the advised date for the award giving ceremony. The final recipient is selected through a vote by members of the committee.

Here are the details of some of the winners of Seoul Peace Prize:

In 2014, it was given to Angela Merkel of Germany in recognition of her outstanding contribution to protecting human rights, promoting peace, and preventing war and terrorism through international cooperation

In 2010, it was given to José Antonio Abreu for saving juveniles from violence and crime and contributing to building a peaceful society by promoting harmony, cooperation and fellowship through the organization of orchestras. José Antonio Abreu Anselmi was a Venezuelan orchestra conductor, pianist, economist, educator, activist, and politician. He was also honoured with the 2009 Latin Grammy Trustees Award, an honour given to people who have contributed to music by the Latin Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences.

In 2008, it was given to Abdus Sattar Eidhi of Pakistan for serving the humanity.

In 2006, it was given to Mohammed Yunus of Bangla Desh for being the foremost leader in the global fight to combat poverty.

It is a great achievement of Shri Narendra Modi Ji and we the Indians are proud of his achievements.

Other awards received by Shri Narendra Modi include:
King Abdul Azis Sash Award (Saudi Arabia 2016)
Amir Amanullah Khan Award (Afghanistan 2016)
Palestine Grand Collar Award (Palestine 2018)
Champion of Earth 2018 Award (UNO 2018)

Naim Naqvi

Naim Naqvi

Did his graduation in Science discipline from AMU in 1972-73. He was Secretary of University Ali Society in 1970 and M.M. Hall Literary Society in early 70 's and member of Tayyabji Literary Society. Did his Diploma in Bakery Administration from HTT College Oxford Street London in 1987. Worked with National Herald - Delhi, Blitz - Bombay as Trainee Journalist and in Production Department with 'Naya Sansar Pictures' of Khwaja Ahmed Abbas at Bombay in early 70's. Traveled for study and training purposes to Germany, U.K., Switzerland, France, Dubai, Oman, AbuDhabi, Bahrain and Philepines.

More Posts

Leave a Reply